2024 House of Delegates Elects New WAFP Leadership

WENATCHEE — New leadership for the Washington Academy of Family Physicians was elected and sworn in at the 2024 House of Delegates at the Wenatchee Convention Center.

Carla Ainsworth, MD, MPH, of Seattle, was sworn in as president by the AAFP visitor, president-elect Jen Brull, MD, FAAFP, of Colorado Springs.

The full elected leadership of the WAFP for the 2024-25 year is:

  • President: Carla Ainsworth, MD, MPH, Seattle
  • Immediate Past President: Ann Diamond, MD, Mazama
  • President-Elect: Sonal Patel, MD, MPH, Seattle
  • Vice President: Rodney Anderson, MD, Bellingham
  • Secretary-Treasurer: Jordan Storhaug, MD, Spokane
  • Assistant Secretary-Treasurer: Diana Huang, MD, MA, Des Moines
  • Speaker: Jonathan Wells, MD, FAAFP, Seattle
  • Vice Speaker: Blain Crandell, MD, Bainbridge Island
  • Eastside Trustees: Jie Casey, DO, Ellensburg; Scott Hippe, MD, Chelan; James Opara, MD, FAAFP, Walla Walla
  • Westside Trustees: Nelson Chiu, MD, FAAFP, Seattle; Adriana Linares, MD, DrPH, MPH, FAAFP, Vancouver; Brianne Rowan, MD, MPH, Port Angeles
  • New Physician Trustee: Jose Flores-Rodarte, MD, MPH, FAAFP, Seattle
  • Resident Trustee: Madie Gore, MD, Seattle
  • Alternate Resident Trustee: Julia Swanson, MD, Renton
  • Medical Student Co-Trustees: Katelyn Bonny, OMS-2, Yakima; Madison Hubble, MS-2, Spokane
  • AAFP Delegates: June Bredin, MD, FAAFP, Ellensburg (Eastside); Gregg VandeKieft, MD, MA, FAAFP, Olympia (Westside)
  • AAFP Alternate Delegates: Katina Rue, DO, FAAFP, Yakima (Eastside); Kevin Wang, MD, FAAFP, Seattle (Westside)

WAFP leadership also announced that the 2025 House of Delegates would be held on April 25, 2025, at Skamania Resort in Stevenson.