The AAFP Degree of Fellow (denoted as FAAFP) was established as an avenue to recognize members who have distinguished themselves among their colleagues and communities by service to family medicine. Any active, inactive or life member in good standing may, upon application, be elected to receive the degree upon fulfilling the appropriate requirements.

AAFP Fellows are given the option when applying to accept their certificate at the AAFP Family Medicine Experience (FMX) or at the WAFP annual meeting.

The WAFP will be host its next convocation ceremony for Washington members who have earned the degree at its 2019 Annual Scientific Assembly.

Interested in or have questions about participating in the Fellowship Convocation Ceremony? Please contact WAFP staff at 425-747-3100 or for further details.

Past Convocation Ceremonies


Left to right: Johnette Crawford, MD, FAAFP, Issaquah; Tyler Raymond, DO, MPH, FAAFP, Tacoma; Barry Bacon, MD, FAAFP, Colville. Not pictured: Officiant John Meigs, MD, FAAFP, AAFP Board Chair.


2017 Washington FAAFP Ceremony

Left to right: Officiant Mott Blair, MD, FAAFP, AAFP Board; Rebecca Benko, MD, FAAFP, Tacoma; Jessica Van Fleet-Green, MD, FAAFP, Olympia; Natalie Nunes, MD, FAAFP, University Place; Julie Miles, MD, FAAFP, Camas.



Left to right: Officiant – Michael Munger, MD, FAAFP, AAFP Board; Douglas Albert Pepple, MD, FAAFP, Everett; Christian Herter, MD, FAAFP, Edmonds; Jennifer Knowles, MD, FAAFP, Puyallup; Nona Hanson, MD, FAAFP, Anacortes; and Richard Bunch, MD, FAAFP, Othello


Russell Maier, MD, FAAFP, Yakima; Officiant: Wanda Filer, MD, MBA, FAAFP, AAFP President-Elect



Left to right: Steven Burrows, MD, FAAFP, Everett; Jennifer Adams Spence, MD, FAAFP, Sammamish; Bill Kriegsman, MD, FAAFP, Oakville;  Officiant – Robert Wergin, MD, FAAFP, AAFP President-Elect; Alejandro Rey, MD, FAAFP, Bellingham; and Stephen G. Cook, MD, FAAFP, Tacoma



Left to right: Byron Mark Vance, MD, FAAFP, Quincy; Ronaldo Francisco Luanzon, MD, FAAFP, Pasco; Officiant: Reid Blackwelder, MD, FAAFP, AAFP President-Elect
Not Pictured: Nathaniel A. Davenport, MD, MMM, FAAFP, Yakima; William F. Nelson, DO, FAAFP, Mead



Left to Right: Officiant: Barbara Doty, MD, FAAFP, AAFP Board Member; Jennifer Gwynne Jones-Vanderleest, MD, FAAFP, Seattle; Susan Z. Hughes MD, FAAFP, Vancouver;
Not pictured: David R. Ruiz, MD, FAAFP, Ridgefield



Left to Right: Janet H. Piehl, MD, FAAFP, Bellevue; Lawrence Lee Cohen, MD, FAAFP, Chiloquin, OR; Elizabeth T. Marshall, MD, FAAFP, Everett; Officiant: Lori Heim, MD, FAAFP, AAFP Board Chair; Lydia Bartholomew, MD, MHA, FAAFP, Kirkland; Stephen A. Albrecht, MD, FAAFP, Olympia; Michael Eugene Luce, MD, FAAFP, Dayton
Not pictured: John A. Nusser, MD, FAAFP, Vancouver, WA