The WAFP congratulates Family Medicine Educator of the Year, Dr. Sharon C. Dobie, MD, MCP, Professor in Family Medicine, UWSOM. Dr. Dobie’s experience, accomplishments, and accolades make clear why she was chosen for this award.

Dr. Dobie has an educational background that is rich in breadth; an undergraduate degree in American Studies, and a master’s in city planning, before graduating from medical school at University of California, San Francisco. After completing residency and beginning family practice in San Francisco, she relocated to Seattle, joining the Country Doctor Community Clinic, and then the UW School of Medicine, where she has worked as an educator since 1989.

Dr. Dobie’s affinity for medical education reaches back to the beginning of her career—she was a peer tutor in medical school—and her abilities and accomplishments are recognized and appreciated by her students and colleagues. Former students praise her compassionate mentorship, and acknowledge the lasting benefits of her guidance in their current lives. A UWSOM colleague considers Dr. Dobie “diligent, principled, and committed to excellence.”

Dr. Dobie is responsible for innovative program successes at the UWSOM, particularly the Rural Underserved Opportunity Program (RUOP), Community Health Advancement Program (CHAP), and the Underserved Pathway (UP). These programs have engaged hundreds of medical students in aspects of care for rural and underserved patients, and provided a gateway for many to become rural family physicians. She has also devoted significant time and creative energy to developing new curriculum and materials, especially around diversity and equity, for the UWSOM.

In addition to many lectures and presentations, Dr. Dobie has written and published extensively, and is the author of Heart Murmurs—What Patients Teach Their Doctors.

Dr. Dobie is a two-time winner of the Teacher of the Year award given by the UWMC Family Medicine Residency, in 1993 and 2016. In 2010, she received the Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award, which rewards exemplary leadership in community-based instruction among all University of Washington faculty. She has been honored by organizations as varied as the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the Pacific Northwest Writers Association and the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine.