R. Ricardo Jiménez, MD, Named
WAFP's 2021 Family Physician of the Year

Seattle family physician R. Ricardo Jiménez, MD, is WAFP's 2021 Family Physician of the Year. The prestigious award is given annually by the Academy to a family physician who exemplifies a compassionate commitment to improving the health and well-being of people and communities throughout Washington.

Dr. Jiménez currently serves as the chief medical officer and vice president of medical affairs for Sea Mar Community Health Centers, roles that he has held for more than two decades. He also continues to see patients as a full-scope family physician at Sea Mar’s clinic in Seattle; he has worked at Sea Mar since 1990.

He earned his undergraduate and medical degree in a combined program at the University of Trujillo Medical School in the coastal city of Trujillo, Peru, about 350 miles northwest of Lima. Dr. Jiménez undertook his residency at Cook County Hospital in Chicago, including his election as chief resident, before moving to Washington. A previous winner of the Best Resident Teacher Award from the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, he has served on the Board and Executive Committee of Admissions at the University of Washington School of Medicine.

During his time at Sea Mar, Dr. Jiménez has implemented innovative programs that better serve his clinic’s patients. In 1988, he spearheaded the development of satellite clinics within the family medicine residency program. These satellites help maintain long-term relationships with patients, providing regular, accessible care to otherwise underserved populations, while also providing crucial training for future family physicians. He has also fostered exchange programs with his native Peru, in the hopes of making family medicine a recognized specialty in that country, and established formal international academic affiliations, including with the National Autonomous University of Mexico in Mexico City.

Previous Winners

  • 2020: Family Physicians throughout Washington during the COVID-19 epidemic
  • 2019: Marcy Hipskind, MD, Bellingham
  • 2018: John Asriel, MD, Ellensburg
  • 2017: Diane Dakin, MD, Olympia
  • 2016: Geoff Jones, MD, Newport
  • 2015: Mark W. Larson, MD, Ellensburg
  • 2014: Carl R. Olden, MD, Yakima
  • 2013: Shawn M. Andrews, MD, Elma
  • 2012: John F. McCarthy, MD, Spokane
  • 2011: Vicki L. Black, MD, Yakima
  • 2010: Richard D. Kovar, MD, Seattle
  • 2009: William G. Sayres, MD, Spokane
  • 2008: William G. Marsh, MD, Puyallup
  • 2007: William F. Roes, MD, Tacoma
  • 2006: W. Bradlee Gerrish, MD, Snohomish
  • 2005: Malcolm A. Butler, MD, Wenatchee
  • 2004: Stephen H. Kriebel, MD, Forks
  • 2003: Bertha H. Safford, MD, Ferndale
  • 2002: Joseph Shamseldin, MD, Seattle
  • 2001: Amos P. Bratrude, MD, Omak
  • 2000: John C. Anderson, MD, Cle Elum
  • 1999: William R. Phillips, MD, MPH, Seattle
  • 1998: Joseph N. Scardapane, MD, Seattle
  • 1997: Douglas O. Corpron, MD, Yakima
  • 1996: Timothy R. Teusink, MD, Kent
  • 1995: Walter A. Henze, MD, Tonasket
  • 1994: Ramoncita R. Maestas, MD, Seattle
  • 1993: Richard P. Bunch, MD, Othello
  • 1992: Roy H. Virak, MD, Tacoma
  • 1991: Nancy L. Foote, MD, Yakima
  • 1990: Harold P. Clure, MD, Anacortes
  • 1989: Anna H. Chavelle, MD, Seattle
  • 1988: Norman A. Erie, MD, Oak Harbor
  • 1987: Leeon F. Aller, Jr., MD, Snohomish
  • 1986: Richard H. Layton, MD, Seattle
  • 1985: Charles C. Strong, MD, Vancouver
  • 1984: Kenneth D. Graham, MD, Tacoma
  • 1983: William F. Mead, MD, Port Angeles
  • 1982: Wayne B. Zook, MD, Wenatchee
  • 1981: Thomas H. Clark, MD, Sumner
  • 1980: Donald M. Keith, MD, Seattle