Dr. Rob Epstein Named
2023 Family Medicine Educator of the Year

The Washington Academy of Family Physicians has named Port Angeles family physician Rob Epstein, MD, as Family Medicine Educator of the Year for 2023. The prestigious award is given annually to recognize Academy members for excellence in teaching, development of innovative teaching models, or implementation of outstanding educational programs.

In nominating Dr. Epstein, current colleagues and former students cited his dedication in bringing training opportunities to the Olympic peninsula and his passion for patient care. They note he was among the first physicians in the region to offer medication treatment for opioid use disorder.

Dr. Epstein is currently program director of the Swedish Port Angels Rural Program through the Swedish Cherry Hill Family Medicine Residency Program; the Port Angeles site director for the University of Washington School of Medicine clerkship site; an assistant clinical professor with the UWSOM; and a full-spectrum family physician who sees patients in need of high-risk obstetrics and endoscopy.

In addition to those roles, he is a member of the Board of The RTT Collaborative, which supports health professions education in rural areas. He is a former National Institute for Program Directors development fellow and completed the University of Washington Family Medicine Residency Network Faculty Development Program.

Dr. Epstein earned his undergraduate degree from the University of Washington and earned a MSN from the University of Tennessee School of Nursing in Knoxville. He worked as a family nurse practitioner in Seattle, Arizona, Colorado and Pakistan before entering the University of Washington School of Medicine. He completed his residency at the Spokane Family Medicine Residency.

Previous Winners

  • 2022: Misbah Keen, MD, MBI, MPH, FAAFP
  • 2021: Amanda Kost, MD, M.Ed
  • 2020: Katheryn Norris, DO
  • 2019: Paul Gianutsos, MD, MPH
  • 2018: Sharon Dobie, MD, MCP
  • 2017: Carl Morris, MD, MPH
  • 2016: Raye Maestas, MD
  • 2015: Nancy Gray Stephens, MD, MPH
  • 2014: H. Thomas Greer, MD, MPH
  • 2014: Walter Hollow, MD
  • 2013: Judith Pauwels, MD
  • 2012: Kevin F. Murray, MD
  • 2011: Russell G. Maier, MD
  • 2010: Samuel W. Cullison, MD
  • 2009 Jane H. Huntington, MD
  • 2008: Roger A. Rosenblatt, MD