2021 Congress of Delegates Elects New AAFP Leadership

At a special session of the Congress of Delegates on Monday and Tuesday, new leadership for the American Academy of Family Physicians was elected and installed.

Sterling Ransone, MD, FAAFP, of Deltaville, VA, was installed as AAFP president. Ada Stewart, MD, FAAFP, of Columbia, SC, was elevated to Board Chair.

The incoming president-elect is Tochi Iroku-Malize, MD, MPH, MBA, FAAFP, of Islip, NY. Dr. Iroku-Malize was the AAFP representative at WAFP’s annual meeting in May.

Russell Kohl, MD, of Stillwell, KS (though a member of the Oklahoma Academy of Family Physicians), was elected by acclamation as speaker. Daron Gersch, MD, FAAFP, of Avon, MN, was elected as vice speaker.

Four new Board members were elected as well. Gail Guerrero-Tucker, MD, MPH, FAAFP, of Thatcher, AZ; Sarah Nosal, MD, FAAFP, of New York City; and Karen Smith, MD, FAAFP, of Raeford, NC, were all elected to three-year terms. Teresa Lovins, MD, FAAFP, of Columbus, IN, was elected to serve a one-year term caused by a vacancy on the AAFP Board. Former Board member Margot Savoy, MD, MPH, FAAFP, resigned after joining the AAFP as its senior vice president for education.

The Congress of Delegates also confirmed the following members to serve on the Board:

  • New physician member: Samuel Mathis, MD, Galveston, TX
  • Resident member: Amanda Stisher, MD, Huntsville, AL
  • Student member: Amy Hoffman, Hershey, PA

This special session of the Congress of Delegates was called to maintain continuity of Academy leadership. The Congress will consider policy resolutions in early February.